Background

Sports practice is like the Roman God Janus, it has two faces. On the one hand, regular physical activity promotes health and reduces cardiovascular risk factors1. On the other hand, the risk of heart failures is increased during and immediately after exercise2,3. These sports-related cardiac events concern both untrained and well-trained athletes with no previously known cardiac diseases4.

Sports-related sudden cardiac death in the general population is more frequent than often suspected5, 6. However it often occurs in a predictable setting, allowing preventing measures, prompt interventions and improving survival rates.

Aware of the current lack of systematic information on sports-related cardiac events in Luxembourg, the SRMCV approached the Sports Medicine Research Laboratory of LIH for the present project. The general aim is to determine the sports-related cardiac event burden in Luxembourg and recommend appropriate risk mitigation strategies.


1 Shephard, R. J., & Balady, G. J. (1999). Exercise as cardiovascular therapy. Circulation, 99(7), 963-972.
2 Albert, C. M., Mittleman, M. A., Chae, C. U., Lee, I. M., Hennekens, C. H., & Manson, J. E. (2000). Triggering of sudden death from cardiac causes by vigorous exertion. N Engl J Med, 343(19), 1355-1361.
3 Siscovick, D. S., Weiss, N. S., Fletcher, R. H., & Lasky, T. (1984). The incidence of primary cardiac arrest during vigorous exercise. N Engl J Med, 311(14), 874-877.
4 Maron, B. J. (2003). Sudden death in young athletes. N Engl J Med, 349(11), 1064-1075.
5 Chevalier, L., Hajjar, M., Douard, H., Cherief, A., Dindard, J. M., Sedze, F., et al. (2009). Sports-related acute cardiovascular events in a general population: a French prospective study. Eur J Cardiovasc Prev Rehabil, 16(3), 365-370.
6 Marijon, E., Tafflet, M., Celermajer, D. S., Dumas, F., Perier, M. C., Mustafic, H., et al. (2011). Sports-related sudden death in the general population. Circulation, 124(6), 672-681.

Contexte

La pratique du sport est comme le Dieu romain Janus, elle a deux visages. D'une part, l'activité physique régulière favorise la santé cardio-vasculaire et réduit les facteurs des risques1. D'autre part, le risque d’insuffisance cardiaque est augmenté pendant et immédiatement après un exercice2,3. Ces événements cardiaques concernent à la fois les sportifs amateurs et ceux de haut-niveau qui n’ont pas de problème cardiaque précédemment connu4.

La mort subite liée au sport dans la population générale est moins rare qu’elle n'y parait5,6. Cependant, elle se produit souvent dans un cadre prévisible, permettant des interventions rapides et augmentant le taux de survie.

Conscient du manque actuel du recueil systématique d'informations sur les événements cardiaques liés au sport au Luxembourg, le SRMCV a approché le Laboratoire de Recherche en Médecine du Sport du LIH pour ce projet. L'objectif principal est de déterminer l’impact des événements cardiaques liés au sport au Luxembourg et de recommander des stratégies appropriées de prévention de ces événements.


1 Shephard, R. J., & Balady, G. J. (1999). Exercise as cardiovascular therapy. Circulation, 99(7), 963-972.
2 Albert, C. M., Mittleman, M. A., Chae, C. U., Lee, I. M., Hennekens, C. H., & Manson, J. E. (2000). Triggering of sudden death from cardiac causes by vigorous exertion. N Engl J Med, 343(19), 1355-1361.
3 Siscovick, D. S., Weiss, N. S., Fletcher, R. H., & Lasky, T. (1984). The incidence of primary cardiac arrest during vigorous exercise. N Engl J Med, 311(14), 874-877.
4 Maron, B. J. (2003). Sudden death in young athletes. N Engl J Med, 349(11), 1064-1075.
5 Chevalier, L., Hajjar, M., Douard, H., Cherief, A., Dindard, J. M., Sedze, F., et al. (2009). Sports-related acute cardiovascular events in a general population: a French prospective study. Eur J Cardiovasc Prev Rehabil, 16(3), 365-370.
6 Marijon, E., Tafflet, M., Celermajer, D. S., Dumas, F., Perier, M. C., Mustafic, H., et al. (2011). Sports-related sudden death in the general population. Circulation, 124(6), 672-681.